Where do the foreigners hang out?

Talk about anything you want here! Anything about Yangzhou, Jiangsu, or about China, about life and about whatever! Feel free to share your views and opinions!

Where do the foreigners hang out?

Postby instantkarma » Mon Feb 22, 2010 9:02 pm

Well hello

My name is Alan, make that Australian Alan and I'm new to Yangzhou though I've been in Nantong, China for 5 months. This time I'm teaching English at Web, in Nantong it was Business & Accountancy at the Voc. College

Where do the foreigners hang out? Which bars, coffee lounges, rugby union or other sports matches, meetings, political rallies (sorry forgot where I was for a moment).

I am married to a lovely Chinese woman but sometimes I need some native speakers. In Nantong it was at bars or rugby union matches. And there were bars and dives.

Not a huge drinker (too old for that) but being Australian I can down a few pejos (phonetic license) , not looking to pick-up chics (seriously married) and not looking for illegal highs - just want to talk to someone who really knows what Forest Gump or Bob Dylan or Oscar Wilde are all about.

Thanks (in advance, spur of the moment or retrospect or any combination of these).

Alan
instantkarma
Esquire

Re: Where do the foreigners hang out?

Postby abbasidanyal » Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:11 pm

Hi Alan,

I don't know where the foreigners hang out but I'm new to Yangzhou and I'm keen to meet other English speakers, as I don't speak a word of Chinese and I'm starting to feel it!

I've taken a job teaching English at Shane English School. Its my first teaching job, and its going pretty well so far. Previously, I was in Glasgow. I did a degree in English Lit at the University there.

Can I interest you in going for a drink with a complete stranger? It could be awkward, but like Momma always said, life is like a box of chocolates and you never know what you're gonna get.

Danny
abbasidanyal
Qishi / Knight